I’m so blue…

 Blueberries as far as the eye can see…one of my favorite fruits!  Plump, tender morsels warmed lovingly by the summer sun – waiting to know their fate. Will they be eaten from eager little hands? Combined with lemon juice and zest, flour and cinnamon – enrobed in a flakey overcoat to create a sinful dessert? Or, encased in a glass jar to be opened at a later date…full of summery goodness to be enjoyed on a cold and snowy Wisconsin winter day?  That’s the question that plagues me as I wait for my fresh flats of berries…

As I pour over canning cookbooks and saved recipes I grow anxious to can again…forgetting jam burns and scorched fingers. And…twenty pounds of blueberries in hand (well, in-car)…I embark on a mission to start the 2012 Summer Canning Season (almost like it’s a official thing).  Gingerered Blueberry Jam lovingly calls my name (http://www.foodinjars.com/2011/07/urban-preserving-blueberry-ginger-jam/) I followed the recipe and ended up with 5 1/2 4oz. jelly jars – the lemon I had was a pretty good-sized fruit as the end result is more of a Lemon Blueberry Ginger Spreadable Fruit.  But…it’s oh so yummy…begging for homemade biscuits or a flakey cream scone.

…and without further ado…photos of the ordeal…

Everything is better with candied ginger, right?

Just ready to release their inner berry.

The aftermath.

Sarah’s probably thinking, you want me to do what with this?

This is what happens when you roll around on the floor, trying to get a shot of your cat and your jam, when you unknowling have jam on your arm.

Sarah’s not so sure she likes jam…

It’s all about perspective.

The fuzzy jar shot.

The notsoartsy shot of the jam pot.

This entry was posted in Berries, Jam, Sarah, Sweet. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I’m so blue…

  1. janet j says:

    I LOVE it! I can just smell that blueberry goodness…Mmmm…mmmm. I really admire you for the patience and perseverance of it. And to enjoy the fruits of your labor for many months ahead is a wonderful reward! High Five!

Leave a comment